The BWH Minority Faculty Career Development Award is granted annually to one early-career underrepresented in medicine (URM) academician.


Minority Faculty Career Development Award (MFCDA)

The CDI acknowledges the work of our diverse Faculty and Trainees with a number of awards.

Established in 1996, the BWH Minority Faculty Career Development Award (MFCDA) is granted annually to one early-career underrepresented in medicine (URM) academician.  It is designed to assist in supporting their work and career progression at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and at Harvard Medical School. The MFCDA is a mentored career development award of $100,000 which is paid out over a 5-year period and is not renewable. This award is an important part of BWH’s efforts to increase the representation of URM physicians and scientists in the fellowship programs and faculty positions at BWH.

Eligibility Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be a member of a URM (underrepresented in medicine) Group* 
  • Be a US citizen or non-citizen national with a permanent residence visa
  • Hold a primary academic appointment at BWH 
  • Hold professional full time employment at BWH 
  • Be a third or fourth year resident, a clinical or research fellow or a full time faculty member in their first faculty position at BWH within the first five years of their initial faculty appointment
  • Hold an MD, MD/PhD, PhD or equivalent degree
  • Commit to a career in academic medicine
  • Provide evidence that a commitment of a full-time faculty position has been made to the candidate
  • Commit a minimum of 75% professional effort (of a full-time position) to their career development plan 

*Underrepresented in medicine (URM) means those racial and ethnic and populations that are underrepresented in the medical profession relative to their numbers in the general population [Adopted by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Executive Committee, March 19, 2004]. Per AAMC, at BWH, URM is defined as African American/Black, Hispanic American, Latina/Latino, Alaskan/Hawaiian Native and Native American. 

Past Award Recipients

2017 Carolina Bibbo, MD
2017 Dorlan Kimbrough, MD
2016 Viviany Taqueti, MD, MPH                          
2016 Joseph Mancias, MD, PhD                           
2015 Monik Jiménez, ScD, SM                              
2015 Liza Colimon, MD                                             
2014 Miguel Divo, MD                                               
2014 Nadia Huancahuari, MD                               
2013 Alejandro Diaz, MD, MPH                           
2013 Robert Riviello, MD, MPH                           
2012 Khady Diouf, MD                                               
2012 Ebony Boyce-Cater, MD                               
2012 Rose Kakoza, MD                                              
2011 Corrina Oxford, MD                                        
2011 David Walton, MD  

2010 Daniel Palazuelos, MD, MPH                     
2009 Nora Osman, MD                                              
2009 Audra R. Meadows, MD, MPH
2008 Michael Wilson, MD, PhD
2006 J. Keith Joseph, MD
2006 Christian Arbelaez, MD, MPH
2005 Zara Cooper, MD, MsC
2005 Cheryl Clark, MD, ScD
2004 Thomas Sequist, MD
2003 Arturo Saavedra, MD, PhD
2002 Everett Lyn, MD, MSc
2002 Elizabeth Garner, MD
2001 George Ruiz, MD
2001 LeRoi Hicks, MD, MPH
2001 Michelle Albert, MD
1998 Chinweike Ukomadum, MD, MPH
1998 Collin Stultz, MD, PhD
1996 Christopher Wright, MD, PhD
1996 Eldrin Lewis, MD, MPH

Congratulations to our 2021 MFCDA Award Winners!

Margee Louisias, MD, MPH

Instructor of Medicine Associate Physician, BWH Department of Medicine Division of Allergy and Clinical Immunology

George Molina, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Medicine Associate Surgeon, BWH Department of Surgery Division of Surgical Oncology